WPF Datagrid Accessibility

Aug 9, 2009 at 9:11 PM

Hi,

I am a blind computer programmer trying out the new datagrid from the wpf toolkit. Is there a way to set the text of the buttons on the datagrid such as add, update, delete, select all, etc. ? I am unable to find any way to add text to a button on the grid. While at runtime, I can use my screen reader to investigate the rendered datagrid and can see that there are buttons using my screen reader spoken to me as "button graphic xxxx". I'd like to change the caption/text of the buttons to be actual text, not just graphics,  so the buttons can be spoken to me. Hopefully I do not need to make template columns to accomplish this and there are actual properties in the datagrid that lets a programmer change the caption of the default datagrid buttons?

Also, is there a way to tab to the data brid buttons to activate them?

Finally, are there any built in keyboard shortcuts for add a new row/record? I found f2 for edit and the delete key for deleting a row but cannot find a keystroke to add a new blank row to the datagrid where I can tab through each item in a new blank row and key in the data to add it to the datagrid.

Thanks!

/Justin

Coordinator
Aug 11, 2009 at 9:42 PM
Edited Aug 11, 2009 at 9:45 PM

Hi Justin,

Could you supply a little more information for us?  We tried this out using the Windows 7 screen reader today and weren't seeing the same results you described, so we just want to make sure that we understand the problem and the desired resolution so that we can come up with a recommendation.  A few questions we have:

1. Which screen reader are you using?  We didn't find that the built in Win7 one read much of anything useful from our DataGrid, so we were wondering if maybe you were using a different application.