How To Questions about WPF Data Grid

Jun 30, 2009 at 10:56 AM

Hi,

I am new to WPF data grid. Here is what I am trying to do: I have a data grid which I am binding to a DataTable (using DataTable.DefaultView). In my data grid, I have an Insert Button in the header to insert a new row in the grid. Now here is what I want to accomplish:

1. When I add a new row, a "NewItemPlaceHolder" row is created as well. Is there a way using which I can hide this row? I did look around the forums and one recommendation with to define the ItemsSource of the grid by creating a new CollectionView object (something like dg.ItemsSource = new CollectionView(dg.ItemsSource). This does remove the "NewItemPlaceHolder" but now my items source is no longer a DataView object.

2. When I insert a new row, I want the focus on the 1st cell of the newly created row. In Silverlight, I can simply do by putting the focus on the datagrid, call it's ScrollIntoView() method & then finding the cell content & putting the focus there. How do I do this here?

Any help would be highly appreciated.

Thanks

Gaurav

Coordinator
Jun 30, 2009 at 8:47 PM

Hi Gaurav,

1. I'm assuming that when you say you add a new row that you are doing this programmatically (either your app is pulling in new data and inserting it on its own or the end user enters the information for the new row in a separate dialog and then the app adds the new row after the dialog is closed) - is that correct?  If so, if you want to turn off the NewItemPlaceholder, you should just be able to set DataGrid's CanUserAddRows property to false.  Does that fix it for you?

2. The Silverlight and WPF DataGrids are 95% API and behaviorally compatible, so if this works for you in the Silverlight DataGrid, it should most likely work in the WPF DataGrid.  Have you tried this out in WPF yet?  If it does not work, let us know and we will take a closer look.

Thanks!
Samantha

Jul 1, 2009 at 4:13 AM

Hi Samantha,

Thanks for responding.